advice on new shoes

If you are a beginner climber and want to ask other climbers any questions - then this is the place to ask.
nicororus

advice on new shoes

Post by nicororus » Wed May 18, 2016 1:58 pm

Need some advice....

I'm new to climbing and loving it!! Need to get my feet into my own shoes. With so many shoes on the market and so many online reviews how does one decide? Lace ups or Velcro? Gym or outdoor? I'm a regular in the gyms and can't wait to get onto real rock.

I've had my eye on the evolve shamans..or LA sportive mythos.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated

BrianG

Re: advice on new shoes

Post by BrianG » Wed May 18, 2016 2:21 pm

Came across this on Youtube - Videos for fitting Sportivas - found it pretty useful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAjTLsG8sjo

Good luck.

Wes

Post by Wes » Wed May 18, 2016 2:24 pm

I would advise on going for a slightly cheaper pair when you start out. As you foot work wont be particularly good and, especially in the Gym, you will eat through the rubber very quickly. Once you have been climbing for a while, you will end up having a gym pair and an outdoor pair.

I prefer the velcro especially if you are climbing a lot in doors. It is easier to take on and off.

A big thing is how tight to get it. If you are starting out, dont go to tight, but also remember that shoes stretch. Often the first few climbs your feet will ache, but it does ease. Just remember you aren't climbing on crazy small foot holds just yet. Make sure your shoes are comfortable, but tight.

JessJardimWedepohl

Post by JessJardimWedepohl » Wed May 18, 2016 2:44 pm

Velcro all the way! Just as a personal thing, laces are a giant pain in the ass to take on and off 20 times in a session.