Quantcast
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:38 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:03 pm 

Season's greeting to all! I hope the psyche is starting to build for an amazing year :thumleft:

Does anyone know if there are any established routes going up the faces around the Left Face area on TM or on the big, triangular buttress/face on the Camps Bay side of Kloof Corner ridge? If so, any ideas as to which Mountain Club journals I would need to fish through?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 3:04 pm 

Bump :D

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:45 am 

Ask Hilton Davies

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:52 am 

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:46 pm 

Hello Arno

Are you the Arno I met at Skoorsteenskop?

I'm no expert on this business but I can share the following:

1. There are a lot of routes on the left faces of Table Mountain. Some of them are very easy and you can find all these RDs in Tony Lourens' new book Table Mountain Classics. It's a brilliant book.

2. Adam Roff, Bruce Daniel, Tienie Versveld, Jeremy Berrisford and the other Tuesday evening runners know these routes really well. They jol up them at incredible speeds. Bruce took me for a high-speed soloing mission up Right Face. Tafelberg Road to summit was just over an hour. I nearly died (and we were slow!). These guys can give you excellent beta.

3. In the 20s we had one of the leading-edge climbers in the world - for the time. (Like Mike Mamacos and Andy de Klerk later). This guy, George Londt, made Klein Winterhoek Frontal - a truly awesome route and one that every local climber should do. George died when he took a leader fall on Rainbow Crag on the left side of Table Mountain on 13 November 1927. I've always meant to climb the route but haven't yet. With this history it would be interesting to do.