Tent Advice

Post here for all your gear questions, rants and raves. Ask about gear before you buy it and find out what others are using. NOTE: this forum is NOT for gear sales.

ziik

Tent Advice

Post by ziik » Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:16 pm

Hi All. Need some Tent Advise today. Browsed the forums and there are some posts here and there, but nothing too specific.

So im looking for a 2/3 person hiking tent. Nothing over R3000.00
Looking for something suitable for berg camping. Hiking with climbing gear included.

Currently Im looking at:
e3 Endurance 2 - R2,299.00 | 2.5kg | 1 & 1/2 person (apparently)
Mountain Hard Wear Drifter 2 - R1,899.00 | 2.15 kg | 2 person
360 Degrees Cool Mountain II Extreme hikers Tent - R1,399.95 | 2.9 kg | 2person
Wild Country- Duolite Tent - R2,379.00 | 2.44kg | 2 person
North Face Tadpole 23 - R2,499.00 | 2.1 kg | 2 person
North Face Messo 22 - R2,999.00 | 1.84 kg | 2 person

Which could be the best to withstand harsh weather conditions?

Im new to camping so I dont really know what exactly to look for in a good 3/4 season tent. Do I need a 4 season tent for the berg?

Any other tents I should be looking at? Should I be spending more money? On What?

Thanks!

ChrisLeach

Re: Tent Advice

Post by ChrisLeach » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Hi Ziik. A few months ago I chose the E3 Endurance 1 over the MH Drifter for my trip to South America. I have used it everywhere from desert to 4000m absl and have no complaints, infact I am pretty impressed. It is lightweight so perfect for hiking with, easy to assemble and has withdtood some harsh weather. It is also a stand alone frame so does not require pegs to hold it up as is the case with TNF Tadpole and other tube tents. Amongst my group are quite a few MSR hubbas which are a bit pricier but seem to be doing well in the conditions.

Hope this helps a bit
Chris

smityb

Post by smityb » Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:03 pm

Hey ziik