Quantcast
It is currently Sat Nov 29, 2014 6:07 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 3:29 pm 

hi, im a student from sheffield uk and im in sa till august. im looking for some people to climb with, im not superstrong but im keen and up for trying hard stuff, been climbing about a year or two. im staying in observatory, my email is mdd05cg@sheffield.ac.uk my mobile is 0764696539. Iv got weekends free and probs most weekdays If not, does anyone kow if i can hire a bouldering mat anywhere? and where can i go bloddering thats is ok for a girl on her own? questions questions.
cheers
lotty

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 5:04 pm 

Hi suggest for a girl on their own to maybe stick to the gym, City Rock is in Obs. You can get to their website via the link in the directory section.

I think that they also hire out crash mats.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:28 pm 

my suggestion for a girl on her own is to find some guys with bouldering pads :)
those can be easily found at the local gym - CityRock or the local climbing wall - UCT lower campus.

alternatively, find another girl who boulders (which is harder in some cases - but not this one :) ) and go from there. I'm sending you an e-mail right now...

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:33 am 

Hi there,

I worked in Europe for four years, for a company based in Lancashire. Did a lot of Scottish climbing. By chance one night myself and two South Africans happened to rescue two guys from Penrith on the Black Cuilins. The irony of the matter is that though they were badly hypothermic and wouldn't have seen the night through, the real rescue was them saving our lives. With a lack of experience and a few shots of enthusiasm too much we were a danger to ourselves climbing the stuff we did. Long story cut short, these two guys adopted me to their club (Carlisle Mountaineering Club, see also: