Quantcast
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:04 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours

Post subject: Mountain/climbing guide
PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 1:33 pm 

I am considering making a change in my life, and I am investigating various possibilities.

I am a professional tree climber, and have been climbing for over 8 years. As for rock, I am not that experienced, but have been climbing for about 2 years. I am looking at selling my business and to go out and do something different/new.

I have been doing some research but would like to hear some input/ideas from people in the industry please.
My idea is to do a basic instructors course at a mountaineering school, and then go from there. The goal would be to work here in SA for 6 months of the year and work in the US for 6 months of the year.

My questions are:
1. Would one get employment after doing some instructors courses?
2. According to my research, instructors in the US are pretty well paid; does anyone have any first hand info on this?
3. Would one be able to find 6 months on 6 months off jobs?
4. Which would be the best mountaineering school to attend?
5. Are there any mountaineering/climbing coursers in Cape Town that will be accepted/endorsed by other climbing schools in the US/Europe?

Thanks for your help in advance.

PostPosted: Mon May 06, 2013 4:10 pm 

Hi Willem,

A comprehensive answer is asking someone to write quite an essay.
Which province are you based?
Best phone and have a discussion with someone at Venture Forth, or Rob Thomas (SML) or Gavin Raubenheimer

But in brief:
- Guides the world over usually have a 'something else' on the sideline for during the winter months / injury months / rest days.
You will hear about the 'Rock-Stars' of every industy, but consider the average, and the path that characterises the first number of years.

1. You basically need to create your own work really