Quantcast
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:43 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:37 am 

I'm looking for a good R.D. for "Eclipse", at Wolfberg.

I see it listed on the "Trad. Hit List" on the wiki, at grade 13. Since I have little knowledge of the Wolfberg area and it is both mentioned and at a grade I'm fairly confident I won't struggle with, it looks like a good route to plan into a weekend trip in the region.

If you have one you can post, please post it. Pictures with or without lines drawn on them would be greatly appreciated, as would GPS coordinates for the start, if available. Alternatively, please point me towards a sufficient book of words or MCSA journal. If it is a massive sand-bag, please warn me.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:08 pm 

Xharlie wrote:
If it is a massive sand-bag...
Please send us a report to publish here :twisted:

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:19 pm 

The guide book on Wolfberg is sufficient. You can get this at any gear shop in WC. And I recall that the shop at Sandrift also stock this.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:42 pm 

Eclipse is probably the best easy route on the Wolfberg, simply magnificent. The way it threads itself through the hard climbing is brilliant. The RD in the Wolfberg guide is more than sufficient, there are also a couple of pictures in the guide of people climbing the route. The start is fairly obvious, it starts to the right of "Quite Something" and to the left of "Satisfaction Guaranteed", both of which are very obvious lines. You start one level up from the traverse path, look for a beacon marking the start (probably only visible once you are on the right level), just scramble up on to the ledge somewhere near the start. The start is also marked by a line of horizontal holes in the rock about 3m up.