Quantcast
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:55 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:29 am 

I am fairly new to the whole climbing scene. I have been climbing plastic for a few months now and I think its time to get a taste of the real deal. I live in Pretoria, and I want to know which crag/climbing site near me I should try out? I am willing to drive as far as Bronkies but I would rather first ask on the forum and then offer up my Saturday and Petrol money :wink: (I am a student)

Any personal favorites or suggestions near Pretoria?
Thanks

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:11 am 

hi

firstly trad or sport would you like to climb ?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:31 am 

Yo dude

If you are a student, you live in Pretoria and you want to climb join in with the peeps from Exploratio. We have an awesome bouldering cave for during the week and we go on rock every weekend. If you want to know more pm me :).

Keep on climbing :thumright

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 am 

Bronkies & Chosspile are it - lots of good routes for beginners. And Strubens if you're desperate. Magaliesberg is awesome when you get into trad.
or
move to Cape Town :wink:

PS: the wiki shows all the developed climbing in the area

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:50 am 

In the light of the CT weather isn't that bad advice Mok? :jocolor:

He can climb every day of winter where he is currently & there is more than enough climbing...he can even venture to Boven with his new pals from Explo...or he could move to the Cape for the wind & the rain instead of balmy winter sunshine...doesn't sound like much of a deal to me...

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:29 pm 

Haha yeah I know the Cape weather well, I lived in Paarl for two years (still sad I never got to climb there)