South Africa Protea Climbing Team

On the 3rd November a team of eleven young climbers from South Africa will leave for Guangzhou in China for the IFSC World Youth Championships.

Selections trials were held earlier this year for both lead climbing and bouldering. SASCOC has officially awarded Protea colours to the team and a ceremony will be held at the Pretoria Country Club
on 2 November.

The team is listed below.

Youth B F – Camilla Cibulka GC for Lead and Boulder
Youth B F – Alyssa Meyer WCC for Boulder
Youth B F – Hannah Sealy‐Fisher GC for Boulder

Youth B F – Abigail Strange GC Boulder

Youth B M – David Naude WCC Lead and Boulder
Youth B M – Alistair Stubbs GC Lead and Boulder

Youth A M – Damien Blokker GC Boulder
Youth A M – Christopher Cosser GC Lead
Youth A M – Nicholas Meinel GC Lead and Boulder
Youth A M – Joshua Munstermann KZN Boulder

Junior M – Oliver Marx GC Lead and Boulder

Alyssa Meyer, Hannah Sealy-Fisher, Abigail Strange, and Damien Blokker will also compete in the lead competition.

Unfortunately another talented young climber Josh Greaves was selected for Lead and Bouldering but has had to retire due to a knee operation. Hopefully he will be back in action soon.

Climbing team south Africa 2016

Back Row: Hannah Sealy-Fisher, Oliver Marx, Damien Blokker, Nick Meinel, Chris Cosser
Middle: Alistair Stubbs
Front: Alyssa Meyer, Abigail Strange, Camilla Cibulka, David Naude, Joshua Munsterman


No comments yet.

Leave a Comment/Reply/Review